Week 3

This week was more relaxed like last week so this post might be a little short. I continued to work diligently trying to find as many notable alumni on my own by looking at different Orlando newspapers and other Orlando centered literature. I will admit that although this is tedious work, there is something very satisfying about uncovering people who have changed their environment for the better that don’t necessarily get the huge spotlight. And what is surprising to me is that all of these alumni that I have researched no matter how different the fields they have gone into are, they all have one thing in common and that is Jones High School. This school has produced so many important figures to the Parramore community that it is no surprise to me why people protested and fought for it to stay open.

Another advancement this week is that I’ve got major help in my search for notable alumni coming soon. On Saturday we will be hosting a screening of the Marching Forward documentary for the Jones alumni in order to show them the progress we have been making on the film. Dr.Cassanello made the great suggestion that I use this opportunity to create a short questionnaire in order to ask the alum who they felt were notable graduates of the high school that made changes in the community. Hopefully with this short survey I might be able to gather a list of alumni who I can then research further. In addition to that, the survey would allow me to do what Dr.Lester suggested and find alumni who might be knowledgeable when it comes to impactful people who’ve graduated Jones and use them as a guide in uncovering more information.

Leave a comment