Week 6

I have probably said this about every week so far, but this week was actually calmer than last week. This week we were not able to make a trip to the museum, which was a little disappointing because I felt like we were just about to get the exciting part. Last week we seemed to finally be wrapping up the task of getting a look at our surrounding and seeing what exactly is in the museum. What was in store this week was to begin selecting items on our priority list that we could begin digitizing. Although I am sad that didn’t happen, I am in some ways glad that we weren’t able to go to the museum and begin digitizing because in all honesty the amount of material in the museum itself is a little overwhelming. Although we discussed what we were going to try to take a look at before, which was items that can tell the history of Jones High School and the Parramore neighborhood, it is still a tad bit confusing when you have items that don’t completely relate and might be on the border of what we may or may not need. Hopefully I’ll be able to get with Dr.Cassanello and possibly Dr.Lester to discuss what we have in the museum and what materials I should target first.

Other than that the alumni biographies are coming along well. I have been at work reading up on the information that I found in their folders and using that as a tool to create a short concise view of their lives and the impact they had after they graduated Jones High School. So far with the information Mrs.Rickerts put together on each alum I have not really been stuck on what to write about them and that is something I would graciously thank her for if she was still here. Once I am able to finish up the biographies on the alumni I was able to find I will then have to move to scouring local newspaper archives to see what I can find on those who I could not find information on.

Leave a comment