Week 7

This week was a lot similar to last week in the sense that there was no trip to the museum again this week. Despite that I was able to continue to make advancements on the alumni biography list this week. I should be wrapping up the list most likely this weekend, and once I do that I will be able to move onto the next task of trying to find information on the rest of the alumni I was not able to find in the desk. My initial plan of attack was to go straight to the newspaper archives in order to see what I could find but I’ve now reevaluated this plan and decided to try and see what some of the alumni we’ve been working with might know about the missing people. I chose this new plan because of the fact that looking at the biographies that Mrs.Rickerts wrote, I really admired the personal tone that many of them had and if I could even attempt to recreate them for other alum that would be great. Also speaking on the biographies, this week I was able to finish making an individual folder for each alum on my list. I noticed that before it was a little unorganized when I was trying to locate all the files on each person and now I’ve created a system where everything is in one place.

On the museum side of things this week I was able to meet with Dr.Lester to discuss what me and Kyle’s next move was going to be. She more or less told me that we were on the right path by going ahead and cataloguing each collection in the museum in order to get a general sense of what is in the museum. Moving forward Dr.Lester suggested that once it’s time for us to begin digitizing we should start by focusing on items that are dated before 1950.  Hopefully we’ll be able to apply this new guidance soon because I am itching to get back in the swing of things.

Leave a comment